Regional Workshop-cum-Seminar on "Peace alone leads to Development and Prosperity"

Date: January 10-11, 2009

Venue: Hotel Pragati Manor, G S Road, Guwahati-5, Assam (India)

Scheduled Programme (Final draft)

January 9th Arrival of Delegates to Hotel Pragati Manor, GS Road, Guwahati-5

03:00 pm onwards Registration (For delegates coming from out side Guwahati)

09:00 pm Dinner

January 10th Inaugural Session: Chair - Dr. Ram Dayal Munda, Former Vice Chancellor of Ranchi

University, Former Chairperson of Working Group on the Empowerment of Scheduled Tribes, Planning Commission, Government of India and the Chief President of ICITP (Confirmed)

O9:00 amRegistration (Continued)
10:00 am
Dignitaries taking their seats

10:05 am Lighting of lamp & Inauguration of the Workshop-cum-Seminar: 10:10 am Felicitation to the Chief Guest and the Guest of Honours

10:20 am Greetings and Welcome address:

Jebra Ram Muchahary, President, ICITP-NEZ, Chief Advisor, ICITP and Asia Focal Point of

Indigenous World Forum on Water and Peace

10: 30 am Speeches by Guests of honour:

- Mr. N. Dutta, Advocate General, Arunachal Pradesh, Guwahati High Court, Guwahati (Confirmed)

- Smt. Jarjum Ete, Former Chairperson, State Commission of Women, Member of Central Advisory Committee, Ministry of Pachayati Raj, Governing Member Board, Rashtriya Mahila Kosh, Ministry of WCD, Government of India and President of IWRC, Arunachal Pradesh (Confirmed)
- Dr. Nani Gopal Mahanta, Reader, Political Science, GU, Coordinator, Peace and Conflict Studies, GU, Guwahati, Assam (Confirmed)
- Shri Natwar Thakkar, Founder General Secretary, Nagaland Gandhi Asharam, Guwahati, Assam (Confirmed)

10:50 am Address by the Chief Guest:

Shri Ranjit Shekar Mooshahary IPS (Rtd.), His Excellency the Governor of Megalaya, Shillong

(Confirmed)

11: 10 am Summing up by the Chair

11:20 am Vote of Thanks:

Mr. Sabda Ram Rabha, General Secretary, ICITP-NEZ

11:30 noon Tea Break :

12:00 noon Plenary Session: Searching for Peace: Key Note Address- Dr. Nani Gopal Mahanta, Reader,

Political Science, GU, Coordinator, Peace and Conflict Studies, GU, Guwahati, Assam (confirmed) Moderator: Smt. Jarjum Ete, Former Chairperson, State Commission of Women, Member of Central Advisory Committee, Ministry of Pachayati Raj, Governing Member Board, Rashtriya Mahila Koch, Ministry of WCD, Government of India and President of IWRC, Arunachal Pradesh

(confirmed)
Panelists:

1. Futility of violence : Mr. Pradeep Phangjoubam, Chief Editor, Imphal Free

Press, Imphal, Manipur (Confirmed)

2. Peace leads to development: Dr. Anuradha Dutta, Professor of Peace Studies, Omeo

Kumar Das Institute of Social Change and Development,

Guwahati (Confirmed)

3. Multiple conflicts in the north east: Patricia Mukhim, Shillong, Meghalaya (Confirmed)

4. Good governance leads to peace

and prosperity : Mrs.Rahila Brahma, Senior Advisor, ICITP- NEZ

(Confirmed)

5. Is violence unavoidable? : Shri Natwar Thakkar, Founder General Secretary,

Nagaland Gandhi Asharam, Guwahati (Confirmed).

Questions/Comments/Responses

02:00 pm

Lunch Break

03:00 pm

Interactive dialogue – "Exploring Mechanisms and Strategies for a road map to Peace Building for development and prosperity in NE - a common vision" (View/opinions presentation by different stake holders)

Moderator : Shri Samudra Gupta Kashyab, Chief of Indian Express Bureau, Guwahati, Assam Key Discussants:

- 1. Shri Rongbom Terong, President, Assam Sahitya Sabha, Karbi Anglong
- 2. Dr. Kameswar Brahma, President, Bodo Sahitya Sabha, BTC
- 3. Dr. Ranoj Pegu, Gana Shakti, Mising Autonomous Council, Dhemaji
- 4. Dr. S. Bhattacharjya, Chairman, NESO and Advisor, AASU, Guwahati
- 5. Mr. Rwn Gwra Narzary, President, ABSU, Kokrajhar, BTC, Assam
- 6. Mr. Upendra Debbarma, President, TSF, Agartala, Tripura
- 7. Mr. Uttam Chand Barman, Chairman, Dimasa People's Council, Silchar, Assam
- 8. Mr. Bamang Duchock, Arunachal Citizen Rights, Itanagar, AP

03:30 pm

Tea Break

04:00 pm

Interactive dialogue- Peaceful Conflict Resolution for a road map to Peace Building for development and prosperity in NE- a common Vision "(View/opinions presentation by different stake holders- Cont.)

Chair: Shri Ravindra Bhai, Tamulpur Anchalik Gramdan Sangh, Baksa, BTC, Assam

Moderator: Mr. Wasbir Hussain, Director, Centre for Development and Peace Studies, Guwahati Former Member, National Security Advisory Board, India

Key Discussants:

- 1. Smt. Arupa Patangia Kalita, Guwahati, Assam
- 2. Mr. Hiranya Saikia, Member of Peoples Consultative Group
- 3. Mr. Jana Mahan Muchahary, President, Ex-BLT Welfare Society, Kokrajhar
- 4. Mr. Dilip Nunisa, Chairman, DHD, NC Hills, Assam
- 5. Mr. Mrinal Hazarika, Leader of Pro-peace talk, ULFA
- 6. Mr. Kanhu Murmu, Adivasi Cobra Militant of Assam, Gossaigaon
- 7. Mr. John F Kharshiing, Shillong, Meghalaya
- 8. Mr. Lowerence Hrangkawl, Tripura

05:00 pm

Questions/Comments/Responses

05:30 pm

Adoption of Recommendations/consensus statements

Summing up by the Chair

06:00 pm

End of Day 1.

January 11th

10:00 am

Interactive dialogue – Enhancing peace building capacities for a road map to Peace Building for development and prosperity in NE- a common vision (View/opinions presentation by different stake holders)

Chair: Smt. Jarjum Ete

Moderator: Shri Nitin A. Gokhle, Senior Editor NDTV, New Delhi (Confirmed)

Key Discussants	Key	Discussants
-----------------	-----	-------------

- 1. Mrs. Malati Rani Narzary, Advisor, ABWWF, Kokrajhar
- 2. Mr. Tankeswar Rabha, ARSU, Dudhnoi, RHAC
- 3. Mr. Utzar Sangma, Garo Students'Union, Tura, Meghalaya
- 4. Mr. Deepak Sonowal, Vice Chair, SKAC, Dibrugarh, Assam

11:30am Tea Break

Questions/Comments/Responses

- 5. Mr. Biswajit Rai, President, AKRSU, Bongaigaon
- 6. Mr. Mirjeng Kro, President, Karbi Students' Association
- 7. Mr. K Chongloi, Imphal, Manipur (Confirmed)
- 8. Mr.Sanat Chakravarty, Editor, Grass Root Options, Shillong, Meghalaya
- 9. Mr. Prafulla Hapila, President. Dimasa Students' Union, Haflong, Assam

02:00 pm	Lunch Break
02.00 pm	Lunch Di can

03:00 pm Adoption of Recommendations/consensus statements

Summing up by the Chair

03:45 pm Press Conference

04:30 pm Valedictory Session: Chair: Dr. Ram Dayal Munda, Former Vice Chancellor of Ranchi

University, Former Chairperson of Working Group on the Empowerment of Scheduled Tribes,

Planning Commission, Government of India and the Chief President of ICITP

04;30 pm Dignitaries taking their seats

04:35 pm Felicitation

04:45 pm Greetings and closing address:

Mr. Jebra Ram Muchahary, President, ICITP-NEZ, Chief Advisor, ICITP and Asia Focal Point of

Indigenous World Forum on Water and Peace

04:55 pm Reading out of recommendations/consensus statements:

Narul Islam Laskar, CABSFORD, Public Relations and Communications, Guwahati

05:10 pm Speech by guests of honour:

- Dr. A. K. Medhi, Vice Chancellor, GU, Guwahati, Assam

Justice Sujit Barman Roy, Chairman, Assam Human Rights Commission

Shri Jiten Borgoyari, Director, WPT of Assam, Guwahati, Assam

05: 40 pm Address by- Chief Guest:

Shri Tarun Gogoi, Hon'ble Chief Minister of Assam, Guwahati, Assam

06:00 pm Chairperson's summing up

06:10 pm Vote of thanks:

Mr. Sabda Ram Rabha, General Secretary, ICITP-NEZ.

06:20 pm Refreshment with the Chief Guest and the Guest of honours

07:00 pm Closing of the workshop – cum –seminar.